Day 5

The challenge for today (2-25-16) was to lessen the amount of water I use.

I will admit, since coming to college, my showers have gotten much too long. After learning more about what a valuable resource water is, I have cut my shower time down by a lot. I see it as a moral wrong to just waste water when I am already receiving so much more of its benefits through the clothes I wear, the food I eat, and all the materials I use. I also realized I pour out a good deal of water between filling, rinsing out, and refilling my waterbottle. So today, instead of rinsing out and hand scrubbing my dishes from the week, I am going to let them soak in the sink for a while.Then I am going to mak sure I finish any water poured for me at a restaurant. I am also going to start wearing things for a second time rather than just throwing them into the dirty laundry.

I always knew water was needed to grow food, that is easy to acknowledge. It never occurred to me that it takes water to make fabric, or pencils, or my furniture too. Most of our water consumption does not even come from food, it comes from material items. I cannot believe it takes 8,000 liters of water to make a pair of blue jeans. That fact alone makes me want to wear hand-me-downs the rest of my life!

http://waterfootprint.org/en/water-footprint/personal-water-footprint/

2 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Hey Kendall,
    I really like that you brought up how much water is used for things other than food and day to day activities like hydration, showering, tooth brushing etc. It blows my mind to think about how much water we all use on a daily. It’s even crazier to think about the amount of things we could probably being substituting salt water for instead of using fresh water. I agree with the hand-me-downs 100% !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

